The State of Florida considers you to be a car dealer and requires you to have a dealer’s license if you buy or sell any of the following in a 12-month period:
– Three or more motor vehicles
– One or more recreational vehicles
– One or more mobile homes
All car dealer licenses in Florida are by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The application and approval process can be long, and it varies depending on what type of vehicle you plan to sell.
When applying for a dealer’s license in Florida, you’ll need to specify which type you need. Independent dealer (allows you to deal in used motor vehicles only, for retail or wholesale sales), franchise dealer (allows you to deal in new motor vehicles in agreement with a manufacturer and it allows the sale of used vehicles), wholesale dealer (allows you to buy, sell, and deal only at wholesale prices with other licensed dealers), auctions dealer (allows you to sell, through bidding, vehicles from other dealers but it prohibits retail sales).
To receive your car dealer license in Florida, you must complete the Application for a License as a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer, which is available at any regional office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Also, you’ll need to provide required documentation and pay any applicable fees.
What are the requirements to obtain a dealer license in Florida?
– Completed Application for a License as a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer
– $25,000 Florida Surety Bond Motor Vehicle Dealer or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit Motor Vehicle Dealer
– Garage liability insurance
– Copy of business lease or proof of ownership of location
– Approval (by DMV representative) of dealership location
– Certificate proving completed dealer training seminar
– Business documents (that means copies of corporate agreement, fictitious trade name registration, sales tax number, federal employee ID number)
What about the fees?
Fees you will need to pay for your car dealer license are:
– $300 per approved location.
– $54.25 (per person) for fingerprints and processing.
And what about the license renewals in Florida?
Dealer licenses must be renewed annually, and it will cost you $75. The independent dealers must provide proof of at least 8 hours of continuing dealer training upon renewal.
Regardless of your choice of vehicle, if you fail to obtain a dealer license, you could be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, resulting in 6 months in jail or a fine of $500. Also, you could also be deemed in violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, resulting in large fines or a permanent injunction from a circuit court.
Information on Dealers License, LLC
Dealers License, LLC is based in Greenville, South Carolina and helps clients across the country acquire their dealer license. They can assist you whether you are looking for a wholesale or retail dealer license, either of which allow you to access the dealer-only auctions mentioned above as well as buy and sell within the company’s retail network. They will also help you 24/7 with marketing assistance, mentoring and coaching. If you would like to learn more, check out: https://www.dlcnetwork.com/.